A candy cane a day…

Hello all,

Somehow this month has gone incredibly fast and now its suddenly just over a week until Christmas! I hope everyone has been able to get into the spirit in one way or another. I suggest peppermint ice cream with crushed candy canes and some kick ass ’90s Christmas albums (Mariah, NSYNC, etc.). Or hot chocolate with candy canes and white lights and mittens! OR you could get together with your extended family and celebrate some ceramic ladybugs! What? Oh, right, thats just my crazy family then. Yes, I’ll admit it, this season puts me in an unusually perky mood.

What are your Christmas traditions/favorite things to get you all warm and fuzzy inside during this time of year? Anyone like to decorate to the point that it looks like Rudolf threw up in their living room? Yes, Luc, I’m talking to you.

So, in honor of cheesy TV specials, sugar highs, food comas, bright lights, and Jesus, I have compiled my ALL TIME TOP FIVE CHRISTMAS MOVIES!! So please, sit back and snuggle in… (in no particular order)

A Christmas Story (1983)

bunny

I hope you get what you want

It’s such a classic movie for any time of year, but also captures that perfect mix of childhood over excitement and holiday reality. Oh, and the leg lamp does not get old!

Love Actually (2003)

Kiera Knightly is the worst part of this film

I think Love Actually has a little something for everyone. And if I’m being honest, it sometimes makes me cry. Good soundtrack too.

Home Alone (1990)

Buzz, your girlfriend...woof.

Don’t act like you don’t love this movie. I’m pretty sure everyone born between 1980-1988 can rattle off at least 5 lines. Plus, its Macaulay Culkin before he divorced his parents and got creepy.

How The Grinch Stole Christmas (1966)

Genius Seuss creating holiday goodness in his own little world. I LOVE THAT PUPPY.

It’s A Wonderful Life (1946)

"I want a big one!"

I’m a sucker for old movies and Jimmy Stewart in particular. In It’s A Wonderful Life he perfectly displays the humor, love, dismay, enthusiasm, and humility of the human condition. Not to mention he is charming as hell. Favorite moments (if I HAD to narrow them down): charleston dancing over the pool, “I want a big one!”, throwing rocks, sharing a phone, and (of course) “George Bailey, I’ll love you ’til the day I die.”

Those who almost made the cut: The Preacher’s Wife, While You Were Sleeping, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Holiday Inn.

Some of you may hate on this list and thats fine. Christmas movies are, by definition, cheesy. What are some of your favorites? Any you recommend?

I sincerely hope you all and your families are doing well this holiday season. May we keep in mind the less fortunate as well and remember, “Where there is charity and wisdom, there is neither fear nor ignorance.” – St. Francis of Assisi

Stay classy and thanks for stopping by.

– A N I –

p.s. Need some delicious homemade treats for a party or gift? Check out the award-winning Hot Buns Bakery for all your holiday cravings. Here’s my guarantee: if you don’t like your treats, I will personally eat them for you.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A candy cane a day…

  1. nice blog i really appreciate it

Leave a comment